The new EU enlargement - Sciences Po Access content directly
Journal Articles Revue de l'OFCE Year : 2004

The new EU enlargement


On 1st May 2004, ten countries will have joined the European Union (EU): Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovenia, and Slovakia. The presence of eight Central and Eastern European countries (CEECs hereafter) among the ten newcomers is particularly striking: these countries have had to make a giant step from centrally planned to market economies over an incredibly short time period. Accession to EU may thus be seen as a legitimate reward for countries which have undertaken a profound change in their political and economic structures. [First paragraph]
Fichier principal
Vignette du fichier
2004-04-creel-levasseur-editors-introduction.-the-new-eu-enlargement.pdf (57.49 Ko) Télécharger le fichier
Origin : Publisher files allowed on an open archive

Dates and versions

hal-01020072 , version 1 (07-07-2014)
hal-01020072 , version 2 (15-05-2019)



Jérôme Creel, Sandrine Levasseur. The new EU enlargement: Editors’ introduction. Revue de l'OFCE, 2004, 91 bis, pp.9 - 22. ⟨10.3917/reof.075.0009⟩. ⟨hal-01020072v2⟩
97 View
87 Download



Gmail Facebook X LinkedIn More